Holster review – Tucker Gun Leather Texas Heritage


It’s been over a month since I bought my Commander, and in my last post, I asked for suggestions on a good IWB holster. Both commenters suggested the Milt Sparks VersaMax II. After reading in a bunch of other forums, the VM II seems to be an overwhelming favorite. I’ve placed my order, and should probably get it in January. January. Not going to wait until January to carry my Commander.

So, what to do? I had purchased a holster from Tucker Gun Leather for my HK USP Compact. That gun and I have long since parted company, and the holster went with it. But, I thought I’d give Tucker around run. I had great service from them before, and my experience this time around was no different.

I purchased the Texas Heritage.

img_0096-2011-07-15-23-241.jpg

I chose this model because it received favorable reviews, even though the most common complaint is that it is difficult to re-holster. There is no extra leather on the mouth of the holster. This makes it very thin, but it doesn’t provide any rigidity to keep the mouth open. Very rarely do I have a need to remove my gun from its holster, unless I’m taking it off for the day. I do plan on shooting this gun in some local IDPA tournaments, but I typically don’t wear IWB holsters for that particular application.

Since I’ve received the holster (after a shorter than expect wait), I’ve had the opportunity to carry this fine gun in a variety of situations.  Summer in St. Louis means that it’s sweltering. T-shirt weather for sure. In the past that would have meant that I was carrying my snub-nosed .38. I had no issues carrying under a t-shirt. When paired with a good belt (I buy mine from The Belt Man), it pulls the gun in tight.

img_0098-2011-07-15-23-24.jpg

I’m sure it helps that there is about 80 pounds less of me inside that waistband, but I don’t feel like there is a bulge off my right side. The clips, and the rough side of the hide help keep this holster in place. It stays rock solid on my belt with no noticeable shifting.

I couldn’t be more pleased with this holster. It makes me anxious to try the VM II when it comes, but honestly, I don’t see how it will improve on what I have now, other than aesthetics. But it’s an IWB holster, who cares??? Either way, I’ll continue to wear this holster, and we’ll see how it wears over the coming months. If I find anything negative, I’ll let you know. I’ll be sure to do a side-by-side when the VMII arrives.

This entry was posted in concealed carry, Guns, holsters. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holster review – Tucker Gun Leather Texas Heritage

  1. Derek says:

    I thank you for your review of the Texas Heritage. I am considering this holster, and also the VMII. Have you purchased the VMII? How do you feel they compare? Is the Heritage still working well for you? I also doubt i’ll have the need to re-holster much, so I imagine the Heritage will work very well. Also, is there a sight channel big enough for your gun? I own a S&W Bobtail scandium. Any other issues or suggestions? Thanks so much!

  2. LeadChucker says:

    I have ordered the VMII, but I’ve not received it yet. I expect it sometime in December.

    No issues with the sight channel. No issues at all. In fact, I actually carried with a shirt tucked the other day. If I had a better way of concealing the clips, I’d carry that way more often. But I’m often really surprised at how well I can carry my Colt with this holster.

    Makes me very interested to see how the VMII compares when I get it. I think it’s going to be difficult to improve on the Tucker holster.

  3. Matthew says:

    It’s been 6 months. Write something damnit.

  4. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

