Good hunting!


Hey, I still have this blog thing don’t I?!!?!

All of us here at Fort Leadchucker wish all the hunters going out this weekend a fruitful hunt. It’s the start of rifle season here in Missouri, and my son and I will taking part; hopefully filling a tag or two over the next couple weeks. We’ve had no luck bow hunting, although I thought it was going to happen last weekend.

With that in mind, let’s all remember a few rules:

1) The gun is always loaded, even when it’s not….It is. Got it???
2) Don’t point the gun at anything you don’t wish to destroy. That means anything which doesn’t have a white tail and possibly antlers, and especially if you see orange. Also, get a pair of binoculars. I get pissy when people point muzzles in my direction.
3) Keep your finger off the trigger until you are ready to shoot. Seriously. Don’t mess with it.
4) Know what’s beyond that stupid deer when you do shoot. If there is orange behind the deer, don’t shoot. If you do, don’t be surprised if I don’t have some very uncivilized things to say about your family tree.

Also, you folks hunting from tree stands, wear your harness, and don’t raise and lower a loaded gun. And don’t climb with a loaded gun. My wife’s uncle almost blew his hand off when he fell climbing down from a stand, dropped the gun, and caught the bullet in his wrist. It only will take you a few seconds to reload the gun when you climb up and down.

Now that’s out of the way, everyone have fun. Take a kid if you can. We may not put meat in the freezer this year, but I’ve got a bunch of memories with my son that I wouldn’t have had otherwise.

Happy Hunting!

This entry was posted in hunting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

