New adventure


Those who are close to me know that I have long been bored with my job. Several years worth of bored in fact. It’s a been a good job, it pays very well, and has allowed us to pay off a great deal of debt. It’s an incredibly freeing thing to watch those chains shrink and disappear, something I intend to continue working at until we are completely debt free. That’s one of the reasons I’ve stuck with this line of work as long as I have.

An opportunity fell in my lap a few weeks ago. Without going into too many details, I’ve been offered a position to manage a group that I have been working with as a contractor for the past few years. I’ve tried a time or two to move in this direction at other companies, but it seems that I do my job a little too well. Yes, I’ve been told that. While this job may not sound exciting to anyone, keep in mind, I have NO (and by “NO”, I mean zero) formal management experience. Sure, I’ve managed small projects and small groups of developers, but nothing like this. I don’t know if I’ll like this job, or if I’ll even be good at it. The technical aspects, I can handle without issue, and have for many years, it’s the management stuff that has me a bit perplexed. I don’t even know, what I don’t know.

So, in a market where jobs are tight, and salaries are dropping, a company comes along, offers a job to someone with no experience but a willingness to try anything once, without taking too big of a pay cut plus gaining paid vacation and holidays…. Sign. Me. Up.

It’s going to be an interesting ride…..

This entry was posted in Personal improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New adventure

  1. lairdb says:

    Reading list:
    – Bare Bones Project Management (Bob Lewis)
    – Peopleware (Lister and De Marco)
    – Execution (Bossidy and Charan)
    – KJR (Bob Lewis’s e-newsletter)
    – Toughest Job in the World (Bob Lewis)

    Extra credit:
    – Code Complete (McConnell)
    – Software Estimation (McConnell)

  2. LeadChucker says:

    Thanks, I’ll give them a look!

  3. HankH says:

    First of all, congratulations on your new job, I’m sure you’ll be successful at it. Another book you might want to consider is “Putting The One Minute Manager To Work” by Kenneth Blanchard;
    he has a series of “One Minute Manager” books. I usually buy all my books used on http://www.abebooks.com. You can buy the above book there for $1.00 w/ $2.62 of shipping for a grand total of $3.63. Just call me Mr. Frugal. Hope you have a great Christmas, and one of these days we’ll bust some clays again. My brother and his family visited us from Indiana over Thanksgiving. My brother and I took our sons to Bullseye on Manchester and did 700+ rounds of recoil therapy – it was good 😉 Talk to you later.

    Hank

Leave a Reply

