Deer 1, hunter 0


This weekend I was fortunate enough to go deer hunting with a good friend. I’m a noob when it comes to hunting whitetails, so I was especially grateful for the opportunity. We were blessed with great weather and clear skies. And while there were lots of signs of deer, none were shot by us this weekend.

I would have loved to have harvested my first deer on this trip, however I’m secretly glad that I didn’t have to drag it from way down there:

pb2100011.jpg

to all the way up there:​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

pb2100031.jpg

I’m just kidding of course, I’d have done it in a heartbeat, giddy as a school girl!

No matter, we had a good time hanging out in the woods and hiking along the Black River. There’s something very satisfying and calming to the soul when you camp as we did this weekend. Sitting around the camp fire, you realize that you are experiencing all that a man really needs in this world: real companionship from friends and family, a place to lay your head no matter how primitive, and food in your belly. If you have those three things, everything else is just a desire. While there is nothing wrong with “wants”, but when they overwhelm your “needs”, then you need to re-evaluate your priorities. Definitely an important thing for me to remember as I weigh a potential job opportunity this week.

pb2100051.jpg

I’m glad that there are still a couple months left in deer season here in Missouri. I can hardly wait to get back out into the woods again!

This entry was posted in hunting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deer 1, hunter 0

  1. HankH says:

    Well put. Looks like a good place to recharge the batteries.

  2. Matthew says:

    It really was an great weekend. God blessed us with amazing weather that made it impervious to suffering the elements. Nothing like a good fire back in the pines.

Leave a Reply

