Healthcare


I have to admit, I don’t give my insurance coverage much thought. I’m fortunate enough to be able to purchase health insurance though my employer. I pay a fair amount each month ( a bit over $500 a month to cover my family of 4) and it includes medical, dental and vision. It seems to be decent coverage. It’s not the best I’ve ever had, nor the worst. And thankfully, I’ve not needed to use all the provisions in my plan.

I understand that a lot of folks don’t have insurance, and I also understand that $500 a month for a family of 4 might be the difference between eating or not. I’m not so dense or uncaring to understand that is choice which has to be made by some.

Everyone who’s been paying attention should know that healthcare reform has been a hot topic of debate lately. Old NFO had a post about some things in the bill which are a bit scary. I downloaded the PDF and tried to read through part of it. It’s over a 1000 pages. You should look at it, and try to comprehend every thing you read in the bill. Go ahead. I dare you. It should take you all of five minutes to understand why our Congress critters have no idea what’s in it. If you can’t read through a bill and understand exactly what you are enacting into law, then you shouldn’t be voting for it. Good Lord.

My problem I just don’t know what to do about it. I’m pretty certain that healthcare shouldn’t be for free for anyone, except in rare situations. Everyone should have some skin in the game. And I don’t think the government should be involved.

But I did run across a post at My Modern Country Home which makes a lot of sense to me. Go give it a read. I’m curious to know what people think about her take on a solution….

This entry was posted in Political. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healthcare

  1. Sailorcurt says:

    Sounds great to me.

    The key to her plan, in my opinion, is “keep the federal government out of it”.

    That’s pretty much the key to every endeavor…as the founding fathers were well aware.

Leave a Reply

