This is my rifle…..


….. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My rifle is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I master my life. My rifle, without me, is useless. Without my rifle, I am useless. I must fire my rifle true. I must shoot straighter than any enemy who is trying to kill me. I must shoot him before he shoots me. I will….

My rifle and myself know that what counts in this war is not the rounds we fire, the noise of our burst, nor the smoke we make. We know that it is the hits that count. We will hit…

My rifle is human, even as I, because it is my life. Thus, I will learn it as a brother. I will learn its weakness, its strength, its parts, its accessories, its sights and its barrel. I will keep my rifle clean and ready, even as I am clean and ready. We will become part of each other. We will…

Before God I swear this creed. My rifle and myself are the defenders of my country. We are the masters of our enemy. We are the saviors of my life. So be it, until victory is America’s and there is no enemy, but Peace.

The Rifleman’s Creed

I remembered it from the movie Full Metal Jacket. A quick search of the intertubes revealed that it is also the Marine Corps Rifleman’s Creed, which I didn’t know. You would have thought I made the connection when I watched the following clip (I would advise NOT turning this up in the office. You have been warned….):

But I didn’t. I’ve had a hard week. My wife found the cereal in the freezer the other morning after I left for work. That should tell you something. Sometimes I’m a bit slow.

Anyway, this one is mine.

DSC_0467.B02hYRBxIpBv.jpg

Built on a Territorial Gunsmith’s lower, with a JP trigger pulling just a hair under 4 1/2 pounds, and a Command Arms Collapsable Stock.
The upper is a Rock River Arms Upper with a 16″ Heavy profile barrel, topped off with an EOTech sight and A.R.M.S flip up rear sight.

It has been a work in progress for the past year or so. And it’s finally finished to the point of being satisfactory in my eyes. At some point, you just have to say enough!

This weekend, the enemy is steel.

I’ve only shot this rifle off the bench a couple times, most of it has been from bench bags. But never clangin’ and bangin’.

Should be a good time. I’m looking forward to learning this rifle.

This entry was posted in Guns, Personal improvement, shooting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This is my rifle…..

  1. Linoge says:

    Nice looking rifle, that! I just got done building mine not too long back, and let me tell you – they are fun. I need to hit up some of the salvage stores in the area and see if I can turn up any steel plate, though…

    Enjoy!

  2. Carteach0 says:

    Enjoy… shooting steel is a great way to prove in your custom built rifle. Nice looking rig too!

  3. ASM826 says:

    I learned that Creed under Staff Seargent Delarino in the summer of 1977. I can still remember reciting it just like the video. In the rack, at attention, rifle in my hands.

    I always wondered if the Marine Corps considered peace to be the last enemy. If the last line was “…until there is no enemy except BinLaden.”, for example, BinLaden would be the last enemy.

Leave a Reply

