A trip to the gun show


The weekend was St. Louis Weapons Collectors gun show down at the convention center. I went with a newly minted 1911 shooter and his son to go wander. I knew it was going to be busy, but we couldn’t find a parking space. Wow. Turns out they had booked an Anime convention of some sort at the same time as the gun show. Let me just tell you that it made for an interesting collection of people in the same place. If you happen to be one of those Anime folks, I would only offer you this one bit of advice….don’t shake your fake sword at the guys with guns over their shoulders. It’s just not wise.

Anyway, the show was packed. There were guns to be had if you wanted one, and it didn’t seem that people were charging exorbitantly high prices for their wares. There just didn’t seem to be any “deals”. Perhaps if I had gone with the intent of finding one I would have. Who knows. There were a few things that caught my eye like some cheaper Remington 1100’s. I supposed if I’d found a youth model in 20 gauge, it would be sitting in my safe. There were a few 1911’s that could have made the trip home if I’d had the money. CMMG had their booth packed with AR-15 priced in the $1100 range. I’m glad I’m not in the market for one of those right now. I’d just be happy in Rock River Arms would ship my barrel.

My one purchase, aside from a knife sharpening, was a new stock for my 10/22. I have not liked the stock on my 10/22 since I purchased the gun last Spring, but the price was right so I couldn’t complain. Since the Appleseed last October, I’ve been on a quest to find a nice stock to replace the Hogue stock. And I found it:

P3290035.4czVqapk5eCz.jpg

Not the most exciting purchase, but it made the trip worthwhile for me. If anyone wants a cheap beater stock for their 10/22…let me know, I’ll make you a deal…..

This entry was posted in Guns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

