Range day


I’ve gotten to the point that when I go to the range, I’m there to work on something specific as opposed to just wasting targets and ammo. In May, a local club which hosts a monthly IDPA match is hosting the Missouri State IDPA match. I’ve decided that I’m going to shoot this match with my Glock 19, so I need to run through the qualifier next month. My biggest issue with the qualifier has always been the 3rd stage which ranges from 15-20 yards. Knowing this, whenever I go to the Dept of Conservation range, I’ve been purposely working on my distance shots. Since an IDPA’s A zone is an 8″ circle and a head shot is about a 6″ square, I try to push myself for that 6″ target. Aim small, miss small as they say….

Warming up at 7 yards, first with the Glock 19.

9mm7yards.1oXYZA7JG23r.jpg

And then with the 22. I love this gun. It’s a Smith & Wesson 422. Nothing special at all, but this thing has a great trigger on it. I hate to say it, but this gun turned out to be one of the best gun purchases I’ve made. All 10 shots are within a 2″ circle at 7 yards.
22pistol7yards2.RkWCGgNUKiwa.jpg

9mm at 15 yards… pulling to the left but still mostly in a 6″ circle.

9mmpistol15yards1inch.Xi52Arp55x29.jpg​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

9mmpistol15yards2inch.dEpBxHIQckZV.jpg


Then at 25 yards with the Glock, things fell apart. I shot about 7 rounds and realized I was shooting way left and wasn’t even getting on paper so I switched back to the 22. If I’m gonna waste ammo, I’d rather waste .22LR. The important thing to me was getting the sight picture drilled into my head at that distance. I managed to get things somewhat dialed in by the second target and keeping a majority of my shots in the 6″ circle.

9mm&22pistol25yards.hbc03tz3c7v1.jpg

22pistol25yards.M5NVwWdY0FZV.jpg
My biggest gripe with this approach of switching to the 22 is that it doesn’t help me learn on the gun I’m going to compete with. One of these days I’m going to have to invest in a .22 conversion kit for my Glock. At least then I can work out some of these problems on the gun I compete with.

In the mean time, I guess I’ll have to do some research to see why I’m pulling to the left and work on correcting that at the next range session, as well as a bunch of dry firing and practice draws….. May is only 3 months away and I really don’t want to embarrass myself at my first major match.

This entry was posted in Guns, Personal improvement, shooting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

