Go Illinois!


Illinois is one step closer to allowing residents to legally carry concealed weapons.

I’m interested to see how the final bill will read, in particular, how permissive this law will be and how they handle the reciprocity issue. In HB0245, the section on reciprocity reads:

Section 65. Reciprocity. A person who holds a valid permit or license issued by another state of the United States whose home state permits Illinois residents to obtain a permit or license to carry a concealed firearm in that state may apply directly to the Department of State Police for a permit to carry a concealed firearm in Illinois. The Department of State Police shall take whatever steps are necessary to verify that the person applying has a valid permit or license to carry a concealed firearm issued by his or her home state.

Seems silly to me to require me to apply for a permit in your state, when my state would automatically accept your concealed carry permit. Wouldn’t it be easier to just allow me to carry on my Missouri issued permit?

Yeah, I know, I’m trying to apply logic to laws in Illinois…….. Anyway, good luck to those folks across the river. I hope it goes well for you.

This entry was posted in concealed carry, Political. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

