Hunters Ed class


Today I made the trek up north to the Ted Shanks Conservation Area to finish my last step of the MO hunters ed class. Anyone born after Jan 1, 1967 has to take an approved hunters ed course in order to be able to purchase a hunting license in Missouri.

Normally the course spans either 3 nights during the week, or 2 days on the weekend. Missouri recently started offering part of it online. The way this works is that you study the online material, which closely follows what is normally offered in the classes, take a couple practice tests, and then the real thing. If you pass the real test, you are then eligible to sign up for the field day portion of the training.

The field day training consists of a review of the material, followed by another multiple choice test, and then a practical exam where you are required to demonstrate some basic firearms identification and handling stills, and how to safely cross a fence with a firearm.

I liked this format because I could work through the material as I had time. It’s much easier to commit a Saturday, than it is 3 nights or 2 days. And I still had the opportunity to ask any questions I might have. I had taken a hunter ed class in Indiana many years ago, so its not the first time I’ve seen this material. If some one doesn’t have any firearms handling skills, or hasn’t ever hunted or at least been through this type of material before, I wouldn’t recommend this option, take the classes instead.

Oh yeah, I passed, and used a Henry .22 lever action for some of the practical exam. I only picked that rifle so I could play with it. Never messed with a Henry before. Not that it matters for this discussion.

The drive up was a complete snooze. Coming back, I took a little more scenic route along the Mississippi River. One thing to note, apparently 30 MPH, really means 30 MPH. I got stopped in Mayberry RFD because I saw the speed limit jump to 60 and started accelerating. But according to the not so nice sheriff, that only applies when you pass the last street of the town, not before. The funny thing is, I saw the guy as I entered town, as he had someone pulled over. The speed odometer on my jeep runs about 5 miles an hour faster than actual, so when it says 30, I’m really doing 25…So I know I wasn’t speeding as I went into town. But I guess me hitting a whopping 35 MPH in a 30 as I left town didn’t set well. “The speed limit is 30 MPH and not a mile per hour more” I believe is what I was told. Ah well, shouldn’t bitch too much, as I got away with only a verbal warning.

This entry was posted in hunting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hunters Ed class

  1. Great post there! I took my first Hunter Ed course about 1959 in California, then again in Colorado many years later. Some things stay the same, but there is also new material to learn. I now take one every ten years or so. I look at them as fun, not as something that I absolutely have to do.

    You’re encounter almost sounds like you came across a relative of mine. Just the wrong part of the state. Mexico is just as bad on traffic enforcement!

Leave a Reply

