What I learned today…


Today I shot our monthly IDPA match which added a couple outlaw divisions for BUG’s, 5 shot revolvers, and .380’s. Like I mentioned yesterday, I shot the match with my S&W 638. For those who don’t know, it’s a 5 shot .38 Special snub-nose revolver.

Here’s what I learned:

  • If I’m ever in a gunfight, I’m definitely in the wrong place at the wrong time.
  • 5 shots go by quickly.
  • If I have to reload this gun more than once, I brought the wrong gun.
  • If I have to reload twice, I’m screwed.
  • Gravity is your friend when reloading a revolver.
  • Shooting a revolver is fun.

For the most part, I was happy with my performance in this match. Compared to the other shooters, I sucked. But as far as I know, no one else was shooting a 5 shot revolver, so I really don’t have anything to compare against. The good news is that I didn’t struggle with the gun, reloads especially, like I had expected to.

It was a good style of match to have once a year. I think a lot of people, myself included, learned a few things about these little guns that a lot of folks like to carry, and that was the point of today’s match.

This entry was posted in Guns, shooting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I learned today…

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on the 5-shooter « LeadChucker’s blog

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on the 5-shooter | Leadchucker's Blog

Leave a Reply

