Veterans Day


I was working out tonight and a very current song called “Chicken Fried” by the Zac Brown Band popped up.

One verse in the song caught my attention:

I thank God for my life
And for the stars and stripes
May freedom forever fly, let it ring.
Salute the ones who died
The ones that give their lives so we don`t have to sacrifice
All the things we love
Like our chicken fried……..

Thank you to my grandpa Ed who helped patch up torn up men in northern Africa and Italy during WWII.

Thank you to my great-uncle Billy who fought in Korea.

Thank you to my dad who ended up in Germany during Vietnam. I am thankful you didn’t end up in Vietnam although I know you would have gone. I often wonder how different our lives would have been if you had.

Thank you to all who have served, and are currently serving. Thank you to the families of those who aren’t coming home. You have carried an unimaginable weight. I hope that our gratitude helps lighten that load.

Thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

