BRD strikes again…and gun p0rn!


The pending ascension of “The One” caused a bad case of BRD. I was fortunate enough to score lower receivers from Territorial Gunsmiths a couple days before the election. Nice looking lowers, you can see a sample on his website, and some pictures by Oleg Volk. Randy was great to deal with. Judging from his email, he’s going to continue building lowers for as long as he can. I like that attitude. If you need a lower…buy it from Randy.

Earlier this year, I built up one lower from Spikes Tactical. When I bought mine, I paid $105. Holy Cow, their prices have gone up. I’m assuming market forces and all that….

I stuck a 16″ mid-length upper from Rock River Arms​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ on top with various optics and sites. I’m new to AR’s, so I had to play a little.

P5030012.i3mymwOKwsmQ.jpg

I think it turned out nicely.

Now I’m stuck with a problem…. what to put on top of this receiver.

This time around, I’m going to build the upper, instead of buying it outright. Mainly because I want the experience of putting it all together.

I am going to build another upper chambered in 5.56, but with a 20″ barrel.

But I’d really like to have one chambered in something other than 5.56. I’m considering either the 6.8 SPC or the 6.5 Grendel.

The ballistics of the Grendel appear to be better than the 6.8 SPC, but I’m concerned about its adoption. If I look on Midway’s site, there are only two makers of Grendel ammo, Wolf and Alexander Arms. The 6.8 SPC ammo lists several manufacturers. I don’t necessarily intend for this to be a plinking round, and will reload my ammo, just like I do everything else. It sounds like its a fantastic hunting round. Although I thought I read somewhere that the terminal ballistics of the 6.5 Grendel weren’t as good as the 6.8 SPC. Who knows. I realize you have to take what you read on forums with a grain of salt. There can be a lot of self-appointed experts that like to nitpick over hairs on a gnat’s ass. At the end of the day, as long as the bullet punches the paper where I told it too, or quickly puts down its intended target, do I really care? The other question, how long of a barrel? I don’t anticipate it always being shot from a rest, so I think an 18 or 20″ barrel would be a better choice over a 24″ barrel, especially if it takes the role as a hunting rifle.

I guess its back to the forums for more research. If anyone has any opinions on it, I’d be interested in hearing them.

This entry was posted in Guns, hunting, shooting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BRD strikes again…and gun p0rn!

  1. aczarnowski says:

    FWIW: I’m building a 16″ barreled 6.5 Grendel out of the 1776 special edition Territorial lower I picked up pre-election. That’s if the parts I ordered from Alexander Arms two weeks ago ever get here…

    With a 500 of 6.5G Wolf from ammoman.com, I think I’ll be OK. 6.8SPC everywhere else twice as expensive and I can’t find it in bulk.

    Same idea for me. I bought my first AR and want to build my second one – preferably something slightly different.

  2. LeadChucker says:

    Why the 16″ over your other choices???

  3. RC says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog. I am finding myself in a similar position – TG lowers and all. I decided to order the Grendel since I wanted a long-range precision round. Adopting a wildcat cartridge is a risk, but if enough us take the plunge we won’t have any problem finding ammo and parts! Let me know what you decided on,.

  4. Pingback: This is my rifle….. « LeadChucker’s blog

Leave a Reply

