3rd party defense


I went camping this weekend and it’s always a good time just hanging out, bs’ing the night away. Perfect weekend for it too. One of the guys who camped with us has perfected the technique of shovel cooking. Breakfast cooked on a shovel is interesting, but it works. Green coffee roasted on a shovel, then ground up into a good brew is good too.  I’ll be trying that at home one of these days.

One of my other friends who camped is a professional “problem solver” with a background in executive protection. He was kind enough to run 4 of us guys though some live-fire drills this weekend covering a variety of scenarios. One of the problem I see for folks who regularly carry a gun for personal protection is that many, if not most, never ever get beyond a stationary target in a stationary position with very regulated fire. That’s just not realistic.

I started shooting IDPA a few years ago to help with some those problems. I’m in no way calling IDPA defensive training, because at the end of the day, it’s a game. But it does get you moving, engaging multiple targets, engaging targets who are behind varying degrees of cover, engaging from around cover, etc.

But it does not address (or was ever intended to address) moving your 3rd person (wife, kids, etc) in a defensive shooting scenario. or when you may have an attacker on your back, or your 3rd flipping out and screaming in your ear. This weekend I got to run though some drills involving exactly those scenarios. It wasn’t extensive or intensive training, but it was the right amount to get you thinking about those scenarios. Shooting is definitely different when someone is pushing on your back and you are trying to engage multiple targets. You won’t be trying to pick up the front sight. You’ll be lucky if you get to use 2 hands on your gun, in fact if you are moving your 3rd, you probably won’t.

Also shooting while seated in a car (think simulated car jacking) was interesting. I’m going to have to rethink that scenario through again in terms of how best to secure a firearm in the car but still have it accessible.

One thing which stuck in my head is that the fight won’t be what you want it to be, it will be what it is.

The other thing I was able to practice was low light/no light shooting, and shooting with a light. I’ve always heard that most defensive situations occur under those conditions, but its probably the least practiced scenario. I have to say, I was surprised at how little difference muzzle flash made in my vision. It might be a different when your eyes are completely acclimated to the darkness and you light one off. At any rate, I’m much more comfortable with how and where I should place my light in order to effectively engage a target and not blind myself in the process. I also have to say, I love my Surefire

I did run a lot of these drills with my S&W 638, and ran a couple while stoked with Buffalo Bore 158 grain .38 Special +P’s. It is not a load I would want to spend the whole day shooting, because they were brisk, but I had no issues with the follow-up shots. The BB rounds are now my primary load, followed up with Spear GoldDot’s. I really learning to appreciate that gun, but need some serious work on reloads and drawing from a pocket holster. I realize its never going to be as fast as from the hip, or as fast as a semi-auto, but just need to drill it to be more comfortable with it.

This entry was posted in Guns, Personal improvement, shooting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

