Cool Story


JR at A Keyboard and a .45 has a cool story about an old WWII 1911 that was stolen, recovered and eventually returned to its rightful owner.

I can’t help but think how cool it would be to have something like this from my grandfather’s tour in Northern Africa and Italy during WWII. He served as an x-ray tech. He only spoke to me about his experience one time in my whole life. I’m sure the details of his experience were not pleasant and that he would have been content to just forget about it and move on.

One day I was at his house, and I don’t know how or why, but he started showing me pictures of his buddies from the war, pictures of him at various places in N. Africa, and in Italy. He didn’t say much about what he saw, or what he did. I do remember him mentioning about how they would pay some of the local folks to do their laundry for them. But it was very clear to me that he didn’t like talking about it, but for whatever reason he wanted to tell me about it that day. I wish that I pressed him for more, and gone home and immediately written it all down. I think I was still in shock because he was actually talking about it. He never brought it up before that time, and never again since then.

Funny how a story like this can make you miss your Grandpa who’s been gone 7 years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

