Personal goal achieved


At the beginning of June I joined a gym, mostly just to get my fat ass moving again and to cope with the stress of changing jobs. These office jobs WILL kill you. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

I started off with just weights, doing the circuit. It takes me roughly 40 minutes to an hour to complete. About a month or so ago, I added the treadmill to the routine. I started off slow, walking 5 minutes, running/jogging 5 minutes, then cooling down for 5 minutes….all of this after pushing my way through the weight circuit. Needless to say….I sleep good on those nights. Each week, I added about 2 1/2 minutes to my running time.

Anyway tonight, I ran 1 friggin mile. I wasn’t planning on it, but I got into a groove, found some good tunes on the iPod, and got this freight train up to speed. I can’t remember the last time I did that….high school? And that was….a long time ago 🙂

For what its worth… Eminem’s Lose Yourself is a really great tune to run to. Just enough anger to make you want to push hard. Please don’t think less of me.

This entry was posted in Personal improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Personal goal achieved

  1. Tracy says:

    Hooray! I learned that I have to spend energy to get more energy. Saturday was my first day back at the gym in a while. It felt great! Not only does an office job kill you, but an office + travel is the worst. Congrats on your mile.

Leave a Reply

