Too close to home


Something has been bothering me all day today. I received an email from my mom this morning that someone they were acquainted with was found murdered in his home. Apparently the victim left work to meet his kids as the got off the bus after their first day of school. Thankfully (that seems soo wrong to say) his wife found him first, instead of his kids. There really doesn’t seem to be a solid motive at this point.

I think what has me bothered is that it took place about 8 miles from where my mom and dad live. Out in the country, like my mom and dad’s. Close neighbors, but not that close. And he was doing something that I would do, coming home to greet his kids after a big day.

I suppose it could have been worse, although I don’t know how. I guess it could have been the kids who found the perpetrator of this crime before their dad.

It would be easy to turn this into discourse on why people need to carry guns to protect themselves, but even with a gun, there is no guarantee he could have saved himself with it.

I guess my point is this: Don’t get lulled into a false sense of security because of where you live. Be aware, pay attention when the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. If something doesn’t seem right, act accordingly.

Like I told my mom, evil doesn’t care who you are or where you live.

This entry was posted in WTF. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

