Congratulations to Richard Daley…..


on your award.

2008 SOB of the Year

You don’t even deserve the honor of even being recognized by my buddy X.

So Dick, I’m not rich….scratch that… I am rich. Filthy rich. Just not wealthy. But thats not the point.

I do not have power. I am not an elected official. No special rights have been granted to me by the people for me to abuse. And a gun does not make me safe. Working in a gun free zone does not make me safe. My brain helps me be safe. Being aware helps me be safe. And should I ever find myself in a situation that my brain cannot find a way to evade, then the gun evens the playing field. It becomes yet another tool to help make me safe. You would prefer that I just hand my life over to you and let you keep me safe. Is your hired posse gonna keep me safe? Nope probably not.

And you dolt, the answer to all constitutional issues is not that we can carry a gun. The answer to all constitutional questions is the Constitution itself.

I think Justice Scalia answers this best in the Heller decision:

“…The very enumeration of the right takes out of the hands of government—even the Third Branch of Government—the power to decide on a case-by-case basis whether the right is really worth insisting upon. A constitutional guarantee subject to future judges’ assessments of its usefulness is no constitutional guarantee at all. Constitutional rights are enshrined with the scope they were understood to have when the people adopted them, whether or not future legislatures or (yes) even future judges think that scope too broad.”

You see Dick, The Constitution answers constitutional issues. It was written, in plain English, to provide the simplest interpretation to those who adopted it. And because it is enumerated, you can’t touch it. I think based on that statement alone, we need to have judicial review of all laws against that standard. If there is a law which infringes on any right enumerated by the Constitution, it automatically gets tossed out.

I wonder how much of your work we could undo with that action alone……

This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

