Intro to reloading


I’ll be the first to admit, compared to many folks, I’m a beginner when it come to reloading. I’m posting this information mostly to document what I’ve done. If someone gets some benefit from it, great, but you DO SO AT YOUR OWN RISK. If you hose up something, and blow a hand off….ITS YOUR PROBLEM……

So on to the setup.
Presses:

I use a Lee Pro 1000, and Lee “C frame” press

pro1000.fq4YlafwWBGV.jpg reloader.qSRqtOz9jFzD.jpg

If you read the Lee book, these presses are the end-all-be-all presses. The Dillon presses seem to be top-of-the-line. In fact, I want one, some day. But the Pro 1000 was given to me, so I can’t complain for the price. It gets the job done, however keep it cleaned and adjusted. This seems like such common sense, but I cannot emphasize this enough. If it starts acting up, stop, and adjust it. For me, usually the shell plate carrier needs a slight tweak of the adjustment screw. And keep it clean.

My biggest complaint with the Pro 1000 is that it only has 3 stations, sizing & decapping, expanding and charging, and bullet seating. I like to crimp my bullets, so the 4th station would be useful.

I use the Adjustable Charge Bar with the Pro Auto Disk Powder measure on the Pro 1000. It works well, and is, in my opinion, easier to use and adjust than the disk powder measures.
I also use the Lee Perfect Powder Measure when I load my rifle rounds.

Scales:
There are those who say you should use the manual balance beam scales. They are simple, and its a good place to start learning from. DON“T DO IT. Just buy the digital scale. Your life will be better for it. Trust me. Those ”Old Timers“ who tell you to use a balance beam scale are just pissed off they didn’t have digital scales when they started reloading.

I use a PACT Digital Precision scale. Not for any particular reason, other than it was given to me. It seems to work well enough, I do find that it has to be re-calibrated a few times during a reloading session. Someday I’ll add the powder dispenser to my setup.

highresimage.VX12cQgJgPAQ.jpg

Dies:
I use the Lee Carbide dies for 9mm and .45 ACP. Also use the Lee dies for .223. I purchased the crimp dies for all calibers that I reload.
I would also suggest a pair of calipers for measuring the overall length of the bullets. In fact, it’s required.
A brass tumbler, and tumbling media would also be helpful for cleaning your brass.
Test weights for the scale (different than the calibration weights) are handy.

Next up will be about my experiences loading .45 ACP and 9mm.

This entry was posted in Guns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

