Thoughts on the 5-shooter


A good friend of mine has a couple posts on the snub nose revolver, part 1 and part 2. Go pay him a visit.

There’s not much in there I’m going to disagree with, other than the plastic gun bigotry. Secretly, he covets the Glock 19. He just won’t admit it because he’s afraid that John Moses Browning is going to visit him like the Ghost of Gunnie’s past. I shouldn’t poke fun, as much as he would like a Glock 19, I probably covet the 1911 more. But that’s not the point of this post…….

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​P3040115.LFowcQ1TPms4.jpg

While I sometimes carry my Springfield XD (.45 ACP in case you’re wondering), and more frequently my Glock 19, my S&W 638 is what rides in my pocket or car a majority of the time. The XD is too big unless I’m someplace where I can open carry, or I’m wearing my Carhart and not planning on taking it off. I tend to favor my Glock 19 in the fall and winter months when wearing something other than jeans and a t-shirt.

No doubt, these little guns aren’t without their issues as I’ve discovered. I generally keep mine stoked with Buffalo Bore 158 gr +P bullets, and Spear Gold Dot’s for the reload. The BB rounds can be a little brisk, but I don’t think they are any worse than 158 gr Sellier & Bellot rounds I use for practice (back in the days when you could buy ammo for that purpose). With some training and a lot of trigger time on the gun, I have no qualms about dropping this in my pocket and heading out the door.

This entry was posted in concealed carry, Guns. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts on the 5-shooter

  1. Zack says:

    No argument from me. I have a S&W 640 .38 piped with +P Federal 158gr lead semi-wadcutter hollowpoints; a good pocket carry.

Leave a Reply

